Saturday, September 8, 2018
The things we do for music
SATURDAY 9/8/18 4:40PM- after WAY too much discussion and volleying back-and-forth, it looks like Rick Kanton is going to do the gig with me and Michelle... I am picking him up at the Glenmont Metro; and, I believe, Michelle is bringing him back after the gig… I’ll definitely feel a little better once he’s actually sitting in my car-of course I won’t be able to do this… so I’m sticking to my original plan to go to Seibel‘s and have dinner; Rick says he’s already had dinner and isn’t hungry and will worry about food later…
Speaking of food, I stopped off at Linda’s and fed the cat; on the way to her house I nearly got into a car accident--twice...
I’m pretty sure the three of us are going to sound really good, but it sure has been a major Government Project to make it happen… if the gig ends when it’s supposed to, and I can figure out how to get there, I just might go to the OTWC...
4:55PM- I can’t believe it...it’s actually gotten a little bit chilly and breezy-and I’m wearing shorts… I hope we don’t play outside, besides which it’s trying to rain; Rick told me that he’s bringing his electric guitar; does that mean he’s bringing an amplifier to? I sure as hell hope he doesn’t... on the other hand, I can probably guarantee that he doesn’t like the way an electric guitar sounds coming through the PA system…
and now I feel really stupid for wearing shorts… Plus, it’s starting to drizzle a bit;
10:50PM-after the MSR gig, I went to the OTWC to see Angela, who went to see The Magical Mystery Girls...I saw her, she saw me ...now what?
SUNDAY 2AM--just got in from the OTWC...had an OK time...I don't regret going there--yet...
12:53PM--now that I've had some time to reflect...I picked Rick up from the Metro at about 5PM and we arrived at Seibel's thirty minutes later...it turns out our soundman was Brent Ruggles...I had (still have?) a crush on the woman who is now or soon will be (I believe) his EX wife...not once did I think about that last night...MSR sounded pretty darn good considering we had NO rehearsals before the gig...there were some rough spots but generally IMO we did better than we might have done...
I heard from OZ...he hasn't come out and said that I'm in the Band permanently yet but he's working on scheduling a rehearsal in the near future...I suspect it may depend on how good the 10/6 gig goes...at least that's what I'm telling myself...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Thanks for what?
THURSDAY 11/25/21 1:30PM-I don’t think Linda mentioned my name to her son Jonathan when going through the list of peop...
-
TUESDAY 2/26/19 9:16AM--all of a sudden my left nostril started bleeding...of course, I dunno why... 4PM--it stopped after a lit...
-
MONDAY 1/13/2020--for the first time in (several?) weeks, I checked my blood sugar...Dr. Malinsky always asks about it...It's...
-
WEDNESDAY 2/3/2021 7:55AM--I got the SSA check in the wee hours, possibly as late as 5AM...when combined with what I already had in m...
No comments:
Post a Comment